Welcome to the Northern Illinois University Department of Geography blog pages! Refer to these pages to stay abreast of past, present and planned activities within our Department. For more detailed information concerning our history, degree programs and faculty, please visit the NIU Department of Geography website.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

2010 GTU inductees

The Department of Geography would like to welcome the 2010 inductees into Gamma Theta Upsilon (GTU), Iota Chapter. GTU is an international honor society in geography founded in 1928. Members of GTU have met academic requirements and share a background and interest in geography. GTU chapter activities support geography knowledge and awareness. Standing from left – Sarah Blue (Faculty), Ryan Coomer, Shannon McCarragher, Jacob Kruse, Alicia Lisowski, Steve Hamilton, Ata Shakir, Christine Carrier, Andrew Krmenec (Faculty Advisor), and Michaela Freidrichova. Sitting from left – Siqin Wang, Tara Whippo, Trevor Edmonson (President), and Michael Williams (Membership Chair). Not pictured – Benjamin Peterson, Daniel Weldon II, and Michael Schuch.

(Post contributed by Lenny Walther)